Burlap Rosette Wreath

Standard

In my quest to leave no space undecorated, meet this new door wreath:

I know I’m biased towards my homemade creations, but I do think this wreath is a total cutie! While a little time consuming, it is a totally doable project. Ready to begin?

Items Needed:
foam wreath
burlap (about 1/4 yard)
fabric (about 1/4 yard)
glue gun (yes, I bought one! And it was only $2.99. Not sure why I was holding off on this purchase….)
Fusible interfacing
Sewing Machine

Step 1:
Cut burlap into long strips, about 2 inches width. Using your glue gun, attach one end of the burlap strip to the foam wreath. Tightly wrap the burlap strip around the foam wreath and use the glue gun to attach the end.

Step 2:
Keep adding burlap strips to the wreath until the wreath is covered.

Step 3:
Make fabric rosettes. I discovered a product called Fat Eights, which is pre-cut quilting pieces that all coordinate with each other.

There are many tutorials online, including one I used in this post. Here is a tutorial within a tutorial!

a. Cut your fabric into a long strip, about 1.5 inch width.

b. Fold strip in half and then in half again. Roll fabric around itself, twisting as you go.
c. Add glue dots to hold fabric in place. You have to be pretty dexterous for this!

The width and length of the fabric strip will determine the size of the fabric rosette.

Step 4:
After making your fabric rosettes, slap a lot of hot glue on the back, press and hold onto the burlap wreath.

Step 5:
Continue to add fabric rosettes in a fun pattern!

Step 6:
To make the wreath holder, I cut out a strip of purple fabric and used fusible interfacing to attach it to a wider strip of burlap. Using a 3 inch strip of fabric, twist to make a small loop. Then run a quick stitch across the stop of the ends of the burlap and fabric to attach together and create a loop (make sure the wreath is inside the loop when you sew it!)

Step 7:
Hang up your wreath and admire! People will feel so welcomed when they stand at your door!!

I made this as a gift for a dear friend, but I may need to make one for myself too!

Check the parties I’m linking up to on my Linky Parties page!

10 responses »

  1. Oooh love that purple. Another fun way to incorporate fabric flowers into a project. Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday at beColorful. I’m so glad you joined the party.
    Pam

  2. So cute! (And I love the unique way you made the hook for it to hang! Even that part was decorative!) Well done!

    xo,
    Rebecca

    p.s. – I saw you on Tip Me Tuesday (Tip Junkie)

  3. I saw the picture on a link up party and I knew I had to visit your blog. I stopped by to let you know that the wreath is beautiful. The combination of burlap and blue looks really pretty.

    We have a link-up party going on – Tea Time Thursdays @ Kreative Korner. I would really appreciate if you’d link up some of your awesome posts there. Hope to see you at the party.

    http://tanyaanurag.blogspot.com/2011/08/tea-time-thursdays-2-and-features.html

Leave a Reply

