Baby Burb Cloth and Washcloth

Standard

In my quest to be as crafty as possible this summer, I’m tackling the sewing machine. I’ve had some mild successes before.  There was the time in middle school we learned how to sew locker caddies and a gym bag.  And then when I took Fashion Workshop in high school (I’d do anything to get out of gym class!) we made garters for prom and pajama pants for our boyfriends.  Then I impressed ThatGuy with my sewing skills and made a fleece blanket that can be folded into a pillow for our first Christmas together.  (I’m pretty sure that blanket now lives at ThatGuy’s brother’s apartment. Humpf!)  All of these projects were completed under the watchful eye of school teachers and…. MY MOM!

My mom is AWESOME and can do all these cool things on the sewing machine I can only dream of.  This summer I’ve been under her guidance and today I felt brave enough to sew on my own.  Surprisingly, I’m quite pleased with the results!

Ta da!

Here’s how to make a burb cloth.  This one goes out to all the babies who like to spit up.

1. Pick out a cute fabric and a backer (I recommend terry cloth).  You can also use fleece or minky.  Prewash to shrink and clean.  Cut out a rectangle 16 by 11 inches.

2. Pin the RIGHT sides TOGETHER.

3. Sew around the edges, leaving about 1/2 inch seam.  Also, leave about a 3 inch opening to ride-side out your burb cloth.

4. After you righte-side out your burb cloth, iron down the sides to get a nice crease.

5. Carefully top stitch around the fabric, especially over the opening.

6. Another quick iron and snip off the extra threads.

7. Admire your new burb cloth!  Tie them up with a ribbon to make them look even cuter! These are almost too cute for any babies to burb on.  Almost.

8. Repeat to make more burb cloths.  If you want to do wash clothes, cut 5×5 squares and do steps 2-7.

I’m so pleased with my creation I put it up on my Etsy store!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

