Let Them Eat Pie!

Standard

The college roommates got together to celebrate an important birthday… one month late.   So I suppose it was a 30 and 1 month party!  I made this delicious pie:

Look at that beautiful new mommy!  Can you believe I didn’t take any pictures of the cute baby on my camera?!

I have the ultimate pie crust recipe, passed down from my mom (who got it from dear old Betty).

Sift 2 cups flour and 1 1/2 tsp. salt.  Add 1/2 cup veggie oil and 4-5 tbs of COLD water.  Stir with a fork until combined.

Then because I’m lazy, I used 5 cups of frozen fruit.  You can use any berries- I did a mixture.  Combine fruit with 2/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, zest of one small lemon and 1 tsp ground cinnamon.  Roll dough out and lay into pie and add fruit mixture.

You need to create a vent on your pie to let the steam out.  I used a paring knife to cut out the letters to spell the birthday girl’s name.  This will really impress your friends and they will think it took you many long and tedious minutes instead of mere seconds.

Wrap crust in foil.  Put in a preheated oven 375 degrees.  For frozen fruit bake 50 minutes, then remove foil and bake additional 25-30 minutes.  For thawed/fresh fruit bake 25 minutes and then remove foil and bake for an additional 25-30 minutes.

And I couldn’t forget ThatGuy!  Made him a mini-pie with extra fruit and crust. Then, because we are newlyweds and are mushy in love, I smooshed the O into a heart and stretched the J out to a C.

One response »

Leave a Reply

